

Release

Stock Exchange Listings NZX (MEL) ASX (MEZ)

Annual Shareholder Meeting Voting Results

17 October 2019

At the Meridian Energy Annual Shareholder Meeting held today in Christchurch, all resolutions were decided by poll and the details of the number of votes cast in person or by proxy are:

	Resolutions	For	Against	Total Votes	Abstain
1.	That Jan Dawson, who retires by rotation and is eligible for reelection, be re-elected as a Director of the Company.	1,920,508,823 (99.83%)	3,325,166 (0.17%)	1,923,833,989	2,631,172
2.	That Julia Hoare (appointed as a Director of the Company by the Board with effect from 26 September 2019), who retires and is eligible for election, be elected as a Director of the Company.	1,896,567,616 (98.59%)	27,075,360 (1.41%)	1,923,642,976	2,822,185
3.	That Michelle Henderson (appointed as a Director of the Company by the Board with effect from 16 October 2019), who retires and is eligible for election, be elected as a Director of the Company.	1,923,730,204 (99.97%%)	606,449 (0.03)%	1,924,336,653	2,128,508



4.	That Nagaja Sanatkumar	1,923,483,114	898,296	1,924,381,410	2,083,751
	(appointed as a Director of the Company by the Board with effect from 1 January 2020), be elected as a Director of the	(99.95%)	(0.05%)		
	Company.				
5.	That the Company's constitution	1,923,517,371	564,866	1,924,082,237	2,382,924
	be revoked and a new constitution, in the form	(99.97%)	(0.03%)		
	presented at the 2019 ASM, be adopted, with effect from the				
	close of the ASM.				

The Board of Meridian has determined that all Directors are Independent Directors (as defined in the NZX Listing Rules).

ENDS

Neal Barclay Chief Executive Meridian Energy Limited

For investor relations queries, please contact: Owen Hackston **Investor Relations Manager** 021 246 4772

For media queries, please contact: Claire Shaw Corporate Communications Manager 021 370 677